Accountability

Ok so I am on and off this paleo diet like a whores knickers honestly… I mean haven’t you had enough of reading about this yet?

I know a couple of my friends have really had enough of hearing the word paleo in any sentence that comes from my mouth so god only knows what you guys think…

In saying that, this week I took one step closer to having an almost 100% Paleo diet – I switched from Soy milk to Almond milk for my cafe bought coffee… I had to buy the carton of milk and take it to the coffee shop near to my work and have him make it BUT its one step closer to changing my own habits. All that is left now is chocolate… FUCK YOU CADBURYS AND YOUR MARVELLOUS CREATIONS…

Moving swiftly on… the purpose of todays post is about accountability. While I have been toying with this whole Paleo lifestyle or at least clean eating since the 1st of April this year, I kept thinking that I was doing relatively well though deep down knew that I wasn’t doing as well as I could be… having the odd chocolate bar here or the toast with Jam there… I would say I was probably 70 maybe 75% on track. I was finding it hard to get where I needed and to ensure that I was eating what I needed to be eating so I went on the hunt for a food diary app for my iPhone and what I found was the “Easy Diet Diary” app and it has been brilliant.

This particular app is an Australian centric application with over 30000 foods listed. It also has a bar code scanner so it imports all the nutritional values of whatever it is you eat… sometimes you have to key in the weight of whatever it is you are consuming though it is still super handy.

You can see how many calories, KJ’s, how much protein and fats etc you have consumed throughout the day… If you are leading a paleo diet though I believe calories in and out aren’t overly important, it is about the type of foods you are eating, however I find the counter handy just to keep myself in check anyway.

I have listed everything that I have eaten or drank since I got the app a week and a half ago from the glasses of red wine, the class of whiskey or the marvellous bloody creations that I have eaten… I have still lost weight though because I am monitoring exactly what I eat. It has become a little bit routine like now and well now I can look over what I have consumed over the weeks and think “yup – that there is the reason you still don’t have a 6 pack”

So my pearls of wisdom for today are to either download an app that works for you, or at least start a food journal… loosing fat% or weight is largely down to what you eat… so monitor it and see if it helps. Keen to hear over the coming weeks comments from anyone that tries it that hasn’t to see how they go.

Me – I am going to try for  95% Paleo week by knowing exactly what I eat – I’ll check in again next Tuesday night to tell you how I went.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Progress

5 Comments on “Accountability”

  1. September 12, 2012 at 4:53 am #

    Sounds good. I’m going to re-activate my MyFitnessPal and start logging foods. I did the Whole30. Have you checked it out?

    • Danny
      September 12, 2012 at 7:03 am #

      I have not… I feel I dont have the capacicty to house to many diet informatics in my brain lol

      • September 12, 2012 at 7:31 am #

        Ha ha, you are funny. It’s just no Sugar (of any kind, natural OR artificial), no grains, no dairy, no legumes, no alcohol, no preservatives or artificial ingredients. For 30 days. It sucked.

      • Danny
        September 12, 2012 at 7:59 am #

        See I figure if it’s a “diet” and you only do it for a certain period of time the, What is the point really? Don’t get me wrong you did amazing… And you have changed some habits which is great. But I think I want to work towards something sustainable as opposed to shocking my body into something for a month and then reverting. But that is personal preference. It’s clear you have done amazing with it.

  2. Danny
    October 19, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    So it transpires even being accountable… I still eat shit… what to do what to do

Leave a Reply

