Bacon and Marinara Meatloaf

 

So this creation may not look all that exciting… in fact some of the comments I got from facebook when I put a picture up… were not to kind… HOWEVER it tasted AMAZING and I even had my work colleague Vicky have some for lunch the next day and she literally… ate her words.

There are however two components to this meal… You need to make a home made marinara sauce… which I have to say when I made it… was probably my favorite part of the dish… YUM…

SOOO for the sauce you will need:

  • 8 tomatoes
  • 1 Onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 1 tsp Rosemary, Thyme and Sage
  • Salt and pepper to taste

 

 

For the meatloaf you will need:

  • 500g Beef Mince (more of both mince depending on how much you want to make)
  • 250g Pork mince
  • 1 Cup Almond meal
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Cup marinara sauce
  • Bacon (enough to lay over the top – will depend on the size of your tin)
  • Salt and pepper to season

When I first read this recipe I missed the part where it tells me to roast all the vegetables for 5 hours… When I made this it was 730pm so I thought screw that… SOO you want to preheat your oven while you quarter your tomatoes and put them on a baking tray along with your garlic and drizzle some oil and some salt to taste  and roast in the oven. While this roasts, slice up your onion and celery, heat some oil in a saucepan and add all the remaining ingredients and cook on a high heat for a minute and then turn the heat down and let cook through… once everything is cooked well through and your tomatoes are roasted good, you want to shove it all in a blender and that my friends, is home made marinara sauce… yummy.

To make the meatloaf you basically mix all of the ingredients besides the bacon, mix it up good with your hands, get yourself good and dirty… I used a cake tin and lined it with some baking paper. Layer your bacon on top and shove in the oven for approximately 45 minutes.

Serve with some steamed veg and some more marinara sauce…

In all honesty though I think next time I will use a bread tin to get that bread loaf look, also it didn’t turn out particularly dense, more like an over sized burger patty and it crumbled when putting a fork into it as the loaf shrunk as it cooked and the tin was to big, I think using a smaller tin may have meant it turned out a little better.

Was tasty though. Give it a go.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Dinner, Recipes

2 Comments on “Bacon and Marinara Meatloaf”

  1. June 9, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    I can only imagine what was said on FB. The pizza was amazing so I trust your judgement. I’ll give it a go next week. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bacon and Marinara Meatloaf | rubberbandpants - June 9, 2012

    […] you liked the pizza, check out Danny’s latest. Bacon and Marinara Meatloaf. I have to agree with his Facebook followers in regards to the photo…. however, his zucchini […]

Leave a Reply

