Cauliflower Pizza

 

So tonight I gave a recipe a try that I have wanted to try for months, a paleo style pizza that uses mashed cauliflower for the base…

I was initially skeptical, I love me a thin crust pizza… all that doughy, bready goodness… I LOVE IT… but I have to say, this pizza was AWESOME…

Ok, so you will notice from the pizza that is isn’t 100% paleo because I added cheese, but I had to add a little… you know, to hold together the toppings…

The base didn’t go as solid as I would have liked, but I think that could have been achieved by baking a little longer before adding the topping,  or perhaps spreading the cauliflower base a little thinner…

 

 

 

So to make the base you will need:

  • approx 2 cups of cauliflower
  • tbsp oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup almond meal

You want to steam your cauliflower until it is soft enough to mash up, do that and add the other 3 ingredients then spread out on a tray with baking paper on it and shape into whichever shape you want.

Cook for about 15 minutes or until the edge’s have gone brown… once cooked, load up with whichever toppings you want… paleo toppings preferably… otherwise you may as well just call dominos…

Put back in the over for another 10 – 15 minutes… pull out, slice up and serve… voila… pizza…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Dinner, Recipes

4 Comments on “Cauliflower Pizza”

  1. Danny
    June 3, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    Soooo for anyone that wants to try this… I have made it again tonight and spread the cauliflower thinner… better base… and still lovely

  2. June 4, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    This sounds awesome – definitely going to try 😀

    • Danny
      June 4, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      Yeah it was pretty good

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skinny people CAN eat pizza! Who knew? | rubberbandpants - June 8, 2012

    […] I tried out Danny’s Cauliflower Crust Pizza recipe the other day and it was SO good! I don’t mean “so good” as far as health […]

Leave a Reply

