1 month in

Ok so I am very aware that there has been a serious lack of blogging on my part… and for that I say… piss off… I was busy 🙂

So… update on our first month of Paleo living… what’s been going on and how far we have come… well this update will be really about how far I have come… Jay is not very paleo at all.

Of the 4 weeks in April I was probably really strictly Paleo for maybe 2.5 weeks in total though of the other 1.5 – I was pretty good though not 100% My 4 weeks consisted of a debaucheries wedding weekend – NOT Paleo in the slightest… Jay away for a week of Uni – 100% Paleo in total… 52.5km ran throughout the month, perhaps 7 Gym sessions, developed runners knee and can now am unsure if I can run the half marathon on the 20th of May… though BEST of all – I have dropped from 98kgs (216ibs) to 92.6kg (204.14ibs)

I don’t find it difficult to make paleo decisions be it at home or eating out – what I still find difficult getting my head around is actually just saying – “Danny… don’t eat that” (chocolate is still my weakness – though I have switched to a higher cocoa dark choc yummm) sometimes you just crave something that is not on the menu… example… last week I was struck down with Gastro – (weight actually dropped to 91.3kg though I am not counting that into my weight loss OBVIOUSLY) I didn’t really eat for 3 days besides a loaf of English muffins with Jam… OMG they tasted FRIKKIN amazing… I didn’t feel guilty in the slightest.

I suppose have not given it a proper good crack at being 100% on to see what other health benefits there are and I am unsure if I really want to go 100% Paleo after the last month… however from a weight management point of view… probably the best thing I have ever done…

We haven’t really tried our hands at any new and exciting recipes which is why you have not seen any exciting updates to try… I am however promising this month at least 5 new recipe attempts and at least one of these will be some kind of desert…

Bon appétit

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Progress

6 Comments on “1 month in”

  1. May 9, 2012 at 4:38 am #

    Ok, am going to give Paleo another try. I have a friend’s 40th in Vegas in July and need to look hot in a bikini. Thanks for the motivation.

    • Danny
      May 9, 2012 at 10:45 am #

      Do it Maria – do it… TRUST ME!!!!

      Would this face lie?

  2. May 9, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    I’m in. Will grocery shop tomorrow. As for the face……I have a feeling it usually gets you what you want! 🙂

  3. May 17, 2012 at 5:34 am #

    Weekly photos? Food Journals? Fitness Journals? We can send ours to each other on a specific day. I think no scale since I have more fat to lose and my guess is you are doing more toning and muscle building??? We can blog about it and try to win bragging rights, or should we make it more exciting? mariadstrate@yahoo.com

    • Danny
      May 17, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

      Well I just want to actually you know… have one of those bodies EVERYONE wants haha… Weekly photos works… We can still do the scales though should it be more about the visual/physical change? Will be fun either way…. ill post a blog about the competition and you can and we can just link to each others blogs 🙂 Do you want to post daily food journals?

      • May 18, 2012 at 2:21 am #

        Good idea to link to each other’s blog. Let’s do the first picture posted on Monday and kick start it then? Not sure I can pull of posting daily food intake on my blog since it;’s already hard enough to get on there every other day. Am thinking we could use http://www.myfitnesspal.com/
        I use that to mark my weight loss on my blog. It’s pretty good, you can weigh in there and it logs calories, work out etc. Check it out and let me know what you think. Photo uploads every monday? Swimsuit? Not sure if I’m that brave but……

Leave a Reply

