Wedding Crasher

My recent blogging efforts have been pretty slack… I get an update regularly telling me the lovely Maria has updated her blog and well I have just been slack. Lets call it work, laziness and generally not having anything interesting to talk to you about. zzzz You’ve switched off already haven’t you?

Soooo for the most part of last week I was pretty strict with my diet and was feeling very positive about my new lifestyle and the choice to go Paleo… I was losing weight HOORAH!! and I thought the food was pretty awesome.

I have however had a major blowout on the weekend and was feeling guilty, bloated and wondering how anyone ever sustains this diet. Maria has already decided to give up and move on to something else… Maria – I am VERY jealous you are now consuming dairy again…

Looking back though, I don’t think the week leading up to the weekend was as good as I think it was… Monday night: Massive block of chocolate, Tuesday night… the same… one of my work days – the boss pours out a massive bowl of MMs.. MAN MORE CHOCOLATE… Then Friday night Jay and I decided to just order a pizza… For every time I ate non paleo I reminded myself of the 85/15 rule… justified my bad behaviour… I clearly have no will power…

Then came the wedding that completely crashed it all… Beers, canapes, wine, TWO of the amazing chocolate puddings. a cheese soufle, more beer, a scotch and a handover that wouldn’t quit…

I quite literally drank myself to a level of drunkenness that meant I was unable to swallow any more alcohol… I mean I actually could not physically swallow the drink I was putting in my mouth… For shame…

By Sunday I figured – meh… eff it… You may as well have toast with your bacon and eggs for breakfast, eat the two slices of cake my 80yo grandmother who I hadn’t seen in a year baked especially for me… have milk and sugar in my tea…

OK so not the most amazingly paleo weekend… actually… dad made me bacon and eggs with tomato and mushrooms on Sunday – it was as paleo as my weekend got…

Jay is away all week and I have to cook for myself (damnit) however I have decided that this whole 85/15 rule does not work for me… as a Texan I once met said to me “Go big or go home!” so that is what I am going to do… I am going to do my best to eat 100% Paleo for at least 1 month. If I do not, I know I will eat non paleo and justify it as my cheat meals… So I look for some support as I attempt to go whole hog and actually do this shit!!

Wish me luck

On a positive note… I had an awesome time at the wedding see….

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Progress

5 Comments on “Wedding Crasher”

  1. April 17, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    I cannot believe it! I think you must be my long lost twin. Good thing we were separated at birth, or we’d probably be the size of beluga whales with black livers and an excuse to justify it all! Ha ha. Is that you in the pic? wow! You look amazing! Now go get yourself that book i told you about The Belly Fat Cure. The guy at my gym who I think literally is a caveman, said it’s the next best thing to Paleo. Almost the same with the addition of unsweet dairy (cheese, cream) NO milk, 2 glasses of wine a night or light beer….. If you don’t use any of your 6 carb servings a day, you can add those to your evening night out if you want. I’m SO linking my blog to yours today. YOu crack me up!

  2. Danny
    April 17, 2012 at 5:59 am #

    Yeah that is me in the pic…. not the best picture in the world… but its the only one from the wedding that I didn’t look like a drunken mess in haha

    I am going to stick this Paleo diet out…. weight loss is a benefit though it isn’t the main reason fort changing diets… it is the other health benefits that I am interested in… So lets see how I go 🙂

    Thanks for the compliments

  3. May 1, 2012 at 5:21 am #

    slack indeed. time for an update!

    • Danny
      May 5, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

      Maria… I know I know and I am sorry and will update soon…

      We have both been ill, Jays been away and I have been lazy and leading a particularly unpaleo lifestyle… so bad…

      Will update soon I promise.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Now what? | rubberbandpants - April 18, 2012

    […] ha ha ha! Just about fell out of my seat laughing when I read Danny’s blog yesterday. I needed that. He totally reminds me of myself with his take on dieting, except that he […]

Leave a Reply

