What is Paleo?

Now I haven’t read too much on the subject, to be honest… rather I spoke with a few friends, including a nutritionist, and people who have been living on the paleo diet for various lengths of time.  They all seem to be positive about it, but do admit to having some “slip-ups” from time to time.

The most difficult thing for me is thinking about what paleo is when I’m making food choices… It really isn’t that difficult though, however due to so many years just eating whatever I feel like, whatever has been merchanised well in the supermarket, and whatever is convenient, it gets confusing sometimes.

I came across this “flow-chart” which explained a lot to me.  The most exciting bit?  Potatoes… “eat them if you’re skinny”…. AWESOME!  I fricking love potatoes.

I just need to start thinking more creatively about the food I’m about to cook.  I’ve seen loads of recipes for “Sweet Potato Brownies” today… I think I’m going to have a crack at making them this afternoon.  I’m not good with following recipes, so I’ll just have a go and be sure to post the results.  Here’s hoping they turn out ok.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Paleo Info, Progress

2 Comments on “What is Paleo?”

  1. April 7, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    I like the chart. I think I’ll try to get a copy and put it on the inside of a kitchen cupboard. I don’t eat paleo all the time, but I feel cleaner when I do.

  2. Danny
    April 7, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    Fortunately for Jay… I have done all the reading so I am pretty confident in what we can and cannot eat… Drink etc…

    He is a bad influence though… we had a dark chocolate easter egg yesterday… yum

Leave a Reply

