Sweet Potato Chocolate Brownie FAIL

Excuse me for a moment whilst I scrape the sticky, thick “chocolate brownie” mess from the roof of my mouth…

Well. What a failure that one was.  I have seen SO many posts around about chocolate brownies made using sweet potato with good reviews.  I now believe that these people are all liars.

They turned out looking like chunks of hairy mud.  They smelled ok from a distance, but upon approach the smell turned ugly.  Danny did say (before he spat the half-masticated mud log in the bin) that they tasted better than they smelled.  Unfortunately the taste wasn’t good enough to swallow even the tiniest piece of brownie mud.

I, on the other hand, had two attempts at tasting them. Well, not attempts to taste, but perhaps attempts to convince myself that they tasted ok.  Alas, these attempts were as big a failure as my attempt to make the brownies in the first place.  Once they have cooled down (and Danny has stopped mocking me) I’ll dump them, never to speak of them again… I wonder if I should toss them in the normal waste bin or the environmental/garden waste bin though….

I’m not going to post the recipe as I don’t want to inflict the pain we just suffered on anyone else.  But, here is a picture of the dirty brown muddy mess for you…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Snacks

5 Comments on “Sweet Potato Chocolate Brownie FAIL”

  1. April 7, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    Totally believe they are gross. I’m kinda put off by paleo recently. I have had a lot of flops too and actually gained a pound since starting.

    • Danny
      April 8, 2012 at 8:20 am #

      Once they cooled down they didn’t taste as bad as they first did. I think if we used 75%dark chic rather then 85% they might be alright.

      How have you gained a pound? Iv lost 5 in the first week….

      • April 8, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

        I know. Am so frustrated. My husband lost 5 and has totally cheated. I’m gonna start my own Paleo. No fancy recipes. Just eating Paleo foods my way. the Lazy way.

      • Danny
        April 8, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

        Jay and I have had one or two cheats… but otherwise have been pretty good so I am pleased… I have just had a cheeky cookie today… oops…

        Stick with it… remember that you need to be eating more meals a day to keep the metabolism going 🙂

        I am sure you’ll get there

  2. craigontoast
    May 4, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    they look disturbing

Leave a Reply

