Rosemary and Thyme Omelet with Avocado and Tomato Salsa

It wont take you long to realise as our recipe posts build up that Jay is a bit of a master chef in the kitchen and I am the king of quick, easy and simple meals. I LOVE cooking… though sometimes when I want to eat I want to eat NOW… so I will more often than not have certain elements of a meal prepared in bulk to save on time.

I am also a bit of a creature of habit… when I find something I like, I will eat it until I am over it. This mornings breakfast is one of those meals that I tend to eat a lot because its so tasty and quick. The tomato salsa that is spread over the top of my omelet is one of those elements I mentioned that I prepare a batch of and stick in the fridge to save time… Breakfast is definitely one of those meals in my day that I need in front of me as soon as I wake up… so preparation time is of huge importance to me… You only need to ask Jay how grumpy I am until I have eaten to understand why.

 

To make this omelet you will need:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 avocado (serves 2)
  • Tomato salsa (how I made below)
  • Rosemary
  • Thyme
  • Salt (to taste)
  • Olive oil

Method

Whisk the eggs, rosemary, thyme and a pinch of salt to taste together while your pan heating on the hob on a lowish heat. You want to keep the heat relatively low as if it is too high, the underside will cook to fast and you wont be able to flip the omelet as the top side will still be very runny and then the underside will burn… YUK. Pour the eggy mixture into the fry pan. For this particular recipe I like to cook my omelet like a pancake, so leave the egg to cook over the heat while you prepare the other elements to this dish.

While the egg cooks, take one avocado and mash up and add a little salt and pepper if you like to taste.

Depending on your heat, after about 3 – 5 minutes (or when you start to see the omelet is becoming solid) flip your omelet. You will only need to cook this side for about 1 minute.

Remove to your plate, spoon some of your avocado onto your omelet and cover the surface area then spoon some of your tomato salsa over the top again…

Voila… a delicious paleo breakfast.

For my tomato salsa you will need:

  • 6 medium tomatoes
  • Half a spanish onion
  • Handful of fresh oregano

This is the easy part – shove it ALL in a food processor and blend it up gooooood. Store in a tupperware container in the fridge. Should last you a week. You can add anything else you want in your salsa – as long as it is fresh and not processed your good to go.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfast, Recipes

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

