Paleo and Alcohol

I was very fortunate last night to have been treated to experience my very first Opera… La Traviata. It was absolutely spectacular.

This wasn’t just any Opera though… Yes it was in Sydney… NO it was not at Sydney’s Famous Opera House but performed at a special Open Air Stage that has been erected on Sydney Harbor.

The setting was stunning… Sydney’s iconic Opera House and Harbor Bridge in the background coupled with probably the best weather we have experienced in quite some time and obviously accompanied by my beautiful boy friend. The night was heavenly.

I digress a little… my goings on and adventures are not the point of this particular blog…HOWEVER we did find ourselves in a little bit of a conundrum… not for the first time this week (remember the popcorn) we hadn’t had dinner yet and the offerings of food here were not really paleo options.

There was also a bar… I know you all just raised your eyebrows… how is alcohol going to fit in with this way of life and how are they going to justify this one?

Our decision at the time was to avoid food and wait until we got home to eat… Neither of us was particularly hungry so it wasn’t to difficult to wait. To be fair, while watching the performance eating really was the furthest thing from my mind. We did however decide to enjoy a couple of beers throughout the few hours we were there. Beer probably is not the decision as it is made from wheat’s and grains… I figured however I would go away and then do a little further research on booze and how this can fit into a paleo lifestyle.

Majority of my paleo references and information will be coming from books published by Loren Cordain’s “The Paleo Diet Cookbook.” I will take some inspiration from other internet sources as well no doubt.

In Cordain’s cookbook he doesn’t touch on alcohol in too much detail to be honest however does list it under “Non-Paleo foods to eat in moderation” that alcohol can be consumed from time to time in moderation. Another point was that there was significant medical research to suggest that the occasional boozy beverage have “favorable health effects” nom nom… pour me another…

In saying that the consumptions suggestions are quite low. 12 ounces of beer which is approximately 350mls… so one tinny… which isn’t all that much, you may as well have nothing and continue consuming all the good, healthy and nutritious stuff right?

Well if you are anything like me you are going to want to enjoy the odd drink here and there and you are going to need to decide what is and isn’t right for you. From the research I have done today, when it comes to spirits – apparently if the spirit has been distilled there is a lower chance of grains being in the final product… Result.

At the end of the day it is up to you really as to what you decide to consume and how strictly you want to stick to your diet… How alcohol effects your body and how long it takes to metabolise is going to vary person to person, so drink wisely, responsibly and enjoy yourself I say.

Cheers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Paleo Info, Progress

3 Comments on “Paleo and Alcohol”

  1. April 6, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    I was wondering the same thing since Easter mimosas may be on my menu this year. Yum! I’d better make sure I have a few. For the “favorable health effects,” of course. šŸ˜‰ I don’t think I could ever not have beer on occasion. Especially with summer right around the corner here in the US!

    • Danny
      April 6, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

      I am the same… I don’t drink to extent much these days, though do enjoy a good scotch on occasion (I may be drinking one now) I read an interesting blog today that goes into more details… might be worth a look Maria – http://www.paleoplan.com/2011/09-01/alcohol-and-paleo/

      And by the way… I am in love with you Blog… my boyfriend has been asking me what I have been laughing at for the last hour…

      • April 7, 2012 at 1:49 am #

        ha ha ha! Thanks! Speaking of Whisky, I made the most AWESOME bourbon balls the other day for my friend’s dad who is in the hospital with cancer. Smuggled them in as “cookies.” He was one happy patient.

Leave a Reply

