Egg Cakes

One thing that has been instilled into me throughout my career is “Fail to prepare… Prepare to fail!!” so as mentioned previously… to ensure a clean paleo snacking prepare your food before work.

I decided to make frittatas to throw in my lunch box for work as a mid morning snack and the picture I have uploaded is the end result… I think I may have overdone it with the vegetable ingredients as my frittatas came out rather dense and thus calling them “Egg Cakes”

They still taste good and if you are not to much of a fan of eggy tasting food, turns out.. could hardly taste the egg. I think I should have added a little salt and pepper to taste, however Jay assures me that they were great as they were.

So my recipe for egg cakes is not exactly re-inventing the wheel and probably isn’t anything knew to anyone that leads a paleo lifestyle, though for the benefit of those that want some guidance or just an easy throw together idea… here it goes.

You will need:

1 Dozen eggs, a head of broccoli, 4 Carrots and a dash of water. You will also need a muffin mould pan. Now I have attempted frittatas on a number of occasions using Tins, Cup Cake Moulds in tins and the silicon moulds… the later are by FAR the best… you only need a little of olive oil to grease to avoid sticking. They all come out very easily.

Method

Preheat your oven to about 180 celsius I used a blender/food processor and pretty much shoved everything in and blended it together… added a little bit of water for fluffyness (I read this in a recipe I used once), pour your mix out into the moulds and pop in the oven… approx 15 – 20 minutes. You will be able to see when they are done because they will start to rise out of the mould… press to see if they are firm… remove from oven and mould to cool…

Job Done…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Lunch, Recipes, Snacks

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

